“Very pretty, cosy cottage in a lovely peaceful location, which was perfect!”
Located close to various beaches and wildlife reserves. This cottage is ideal for walkers with energetic dogs like ours. The hamper was a lovely gesture, thank you. Unfortunately we did find quite a few negatives with the property which really did let it down, however these can be rectified easily if a bit if time and TLC were put into it. ** general cleanliness throughout the cottage, dust, dog hair (we had to vacuum all floors and wipe everywhere with antibacterial spray) ** the shower head ...
Located close to various beaches and wildlife reserves. This cottage is ideal for walkers with energetic dogs like ours. The hamper was a lovely gesture, thank you. Unfortunately we did find quite a few negatives with the property which really did let it down, however these can be rectified easily if a bit if time and TLC were put into it. ** general cleanliness throughout the cottage, dust, dog hair (we had to vacuum all floors and wipe everywhere with antibacterial spray) ** the shower head wouldn’t hold its position and kept dropping so my husband was able to rectify this. ** in the kitchen one of the knobs on the oven was broken ** the cooker hop and extractor were dirty and greasy along with the cooker hood light not working. ** the seat pads on the chairs in the kitchen were dirty, torn with stuffing coming out of them. ** the small freezer compartment was frozen up and unable to use. ** the bathroom needs a complete overhaul, it’s tired and dated. ** the bathroom floor mat and towels were tatty and very well used, I ended up trimming off the lose threads. ** the bedroom was dusty and lacked plug sockets, especially near the mirror, had to dry my hair in the lounge. ** both sofas are definitely passed their use by date, they were grubby, smelly and uncomfortable, glad we brought our throws. ** the windows outside were filthy, which was disappointing as the view from the lounge is lovely. Overall the cottage is beautiful just let down by the above comments. Would definitely return if the issues were sorted.
Thank you for your feedback, and are glad that in principle, you enjoyed the location and siting of the cottage. We are naturally disappointed to hear that your stay at the cottage was not as expected. Our aim is to always do what we can to secure an enjoyable and memorable stay, as has been the case for the majority of our guests. We note your feedback, and where appropriate will explore salient issues. We wish to emphasize that the cottage is a Grade 2 listed building, dating back to the 18th century, and size and configuration of rooms are fixed. In the days before your arrival, the entire cottage interior was redecorated, and a new bedroom carpet and living room rug were laid, and we continue to renovate within the character of the cottage. We are sorry that you were disappointed by the standard of cleaning, as we had inspected the cottage with the housekeepers following the redecoration. While very positive reviews characterise our general feedback, we have noted concerns about the furniture, and a new sofa, armchairs and Vintage occasional tables will be available from December. We always encourage practical issues and matters of housekeeping to be raised directly with Sykes at the outset of a stay. From hereon we will emphasize the reporting of issues in our Information Folder, and add a notebook for Guests to enter smaller, practical issues (e.g. broken crockery, light bulbs not working, kitchen appliance faulty), to enable coordinated and swift actions. We hope that you will return to the cottage, and please alert Sykes in advance of your plans to return, with reference to your November 2023 feedback.
Yours, Owners of Pant y Crintach.